Fee Information

Fire: Laws And Regulations

A permit is required in Hinsdale County for a controlled burn. Please obtain the proper burn permit for your area. 


  1. If located in the COUNTY please obtain the "Hinsdale County Fire Permit"
  2. If located in LAKE CITY, please obtain the "CDPH Open Burning Permit Application" to obtain the State burn permit.
    (Please follow instructions as this is submitted to the State, not the Sheriff's Office) 
  3. Please Find Below "Open Burning Safety Tips" for your reference. 

OHV: Laws and Regulations

Additional Information

  

OHV: Laws and Regulations
 Within Lake City Limits
        - All operators must possess a valid drivers license
        - Minimum liability insurance (Colorado standards 25/50K)
        - Colorado State Parks sticker ($25.25)
        - Helmets Required for under 18 years of age

        -Seat belt use is required if incorporated by the OHV manufacturer

       - Eye Protection is required for all operators and passengers
        - No more occupants than OHV is designed for
        - Must obey all Traffic Laws   
 

Within Hinsdale County
        - All operators must possess a valid driver's license
        - Minimum liability insurance (Colorado standards $25/50K)
        - Colorado State Parks sticker ($25.25)
        - ATVs are required to stay on designated roads
        - All vehicles must observe all road restrictions
        - Helmets Required for under 18 years of age

        -Seat belt use is required if incorporated by the OHV manufacturer

       - Eye Protection is required for all operators and passengers
       - No more occupants than OHV is designed for
       - Must obey all Traffic Laws   
 

     *** See below to download the complete Hinsdale County OHV ordinance


Snowmobile: Laws And Regulations
 Within Lake City Limits
        - All operators must be 16 years of age AND possesses a valid
        driver's license or learner's permit
        - Must be equipped with lights, brakes, muffler, and other
        equipment required by C.R.S. 33-14-114
        - Operate on the far right-hand side of all roads, highways,
        streets, and alleys
        - Must yield right of way to all pedestrians, bicycles, and motor
        vehicles

Hinsdale County OHV Ordinance 

OHV_2018 (pdf)

Download

Animals

  Dogs at large prohibited. (Sec.4-24)                       

(a) The following words, terms and phrases, when used in this section, shall have the meanings ascribed to them in this subsection, except where the context clearly indicates a different meaning: 


Custodian means any person possessing, harboring, keeping, or exercising control over any dog. 


Direct, effective and immediate control means that an owner or custodian of a dog shall have the dog securely fastened to a leash, cord, chain, or other restraining device, and the restraining device shall not be more than 16 feet in total length. 


(b) It shall be unlawful for any owner or custodian of any dog to fail to confine it to the premises of the owner or custodian, except: 

          (1) When the dog is confined within the owner's or custodian's motor vehicle; 

          (2) When the dog is under the direct, effective, and immediate control of the owner            or custodian; or 

          (3) When the dog is in Memorial Park. 


(c) If the dog is in Memorial Park, direct, effective, and immediate control shall not be required. In Memorial Park, any dog not leashed shall be under the control of its owner or custodian by verbal command, remote-controlled electronic device or other means actually sufficient to control the dog. It shall be a violation of this subsection if any dog present in Memorial Park is not under its owner's or custodian's direct, effective and immediate control or confined within the owner's or custodian's motor vehicle, and is more than 90 feet from its owner or custodian. 


(d) Violations of this section are declared to be a nuisance, which may be abated in any lawful manner. 


(e) The penalty for a dog-at-large violation may be a fine as set by resolution by the board of trustees and no part of a fine for a dog-at-large violation may be suspended. 

(Ord. No. 1992-2, § 2(13.6-2), 5-6-1992; Ord. No. 1997-1, § 2(13.6-2), 2-5-1997; Ord. No. 2017-04, § 1, 7-19-2017) 

         - Licenses Required: All dogs 6 months or over must have a dog
        license. (See fees page for amount)
        - Cruelty to Animals: Must provide food, water, and protection
        from the elements.
Within Hinsdale County
        - Running- At- Large: Fail to confine to the premise of owner.  Fail
        to control either physically (leash) or verbally (verbal commands).
        - Licenses Required: All dogs 6 months or over must have a dog
        license. (See fees page for amount)
        - Cruelty to Animals: Must provide food, water, and protection
        from the elements.
 


Feeding Wildlife: Laws And Regulations
        - It is illegal to Intentionally place or distribute feed for wildlife in
        Colorado, UNLESS authorized by Colorado Division of Wildlife

Other Laws and Regulations

House Numbers: Laws And Regulations
        - All property numbers shall be affixed to a structure and be clearly
        visible and legible from the street


False Alarm Policy

        --Effective June 1, 2012, the Hinsdale County Sheriff’s Office will collect a $50 fee for more than two false alarms in the same calendar year at the same residence or business. Recently, we have experienced several false alarms from homes and local businesses. Each alarm must be treated as a potential criminal incident and officers respond accordingly. These false alarms are distracting and costly to the agency. Therefore, we will absorb the cost of two false alarms at the same location in a calendar year but will charge for any false alarm that year above two. This policy is effective June 1, 2012, and is not retroactive. For 2012, the “free” false alarms will begin June 1st.

         The Sheriff’s Office will continue to answer all alarms and there will be no charge for alarms representing an actual unauthorized intrusion/fire/freezing/etc into residential or commercial premises. Any citizen who wishes to discuss this policy is invited to contact the Sheriff at 970.944.2291.